Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library

  1. Cherokee
  2. Sun
  3. Ruin
  4. 3,6,9
  5. Always on My Own
  6. Real Life
  7. Human Being
  8. Manhattan
  9. Silent Machine
  10. Nothin But Time
  11. Peace and Love
  12. Fire
  13. Back in the Days
  14. King Rides By

Released: 2012
Essentials: 2012

Sun is the ninth studio album by American musician Cat Power. Her first album of all-original material since 2006's The Greatest, it was released on September 3, 2012, in the United Kingdom and in the United States on September 4, 2012, via Matador. The album was issued in a variety of formats, including a limited edition deluxe LP containing a 7" vinyl of bonus tracks. The album's lead single, Ruin, was released for free download at Matador Record's store on June 20, 2012. A music video for album opener Cherokee, directed by Marshall, has recently been released, while an ambient remix of the song by Nicolas Jaar is available to download from Cat Power's official website. The song was premièred on NPR's All Songs Considered on June 26, whose host Bob Boilen described the album as " [going in] yet another direction. A lot more drive, a lot more electronics, drum machines, synths—it's very bold." On April 10, 2013, Cat Power performed the previously unreleased track Bully on the premier episode of the forty-second series of Later... with Jools Holland. Immediately following the broadcast, a new version of the album containing Bully as a bonus track was made available for download through iTunes. Read more on Last.fm.

cached on: 2020-10-31 09:55:56