Home Playlist Sessies Essentials Top 100 Library
  • Halcyon Digest (2010)
    1. Earthquake
    2. Don't Cry
    3. Revival
    4. Sailing
    5. Memory Boy
    6. Desire Lines
    7. Basement Scene
    8. Helicopter
    9. Fountain Stairs
    10. Coronado
    11. He Would Have Laughed

    Halcyon Digest is the fourth studio album by American indie rock band Deerhunter. It was released September 28, 2010 to very enthusiastic reviews. It was the band's first album distributed exclusively by 4AD worldwide (previously 4AD only handled overseas distribution while Kranky Records handled it within the U.S) The album was self-produced with assistance from Ben Allen and was recorded at Chase Park Transduction studios in Athens, Georgia. The final track, "He Would Have Laughed" was recorded separately by Bradford Cox at Notown Sound in Marietta, GA and is a tribute to the late Jay Reatard. Writing on his Facebook profile page, Cox stated "The album's title is a reference to a collection of fond memories and even invented ones, like my friendship with Ricky Wilson or the fact that I live in an abandoned victorian autoharp factory. The way that we write and rewrite and edit our memories to be a digest version of what we want to remember, and how that's kind of sad." Answering the Q magazine question as to whether the album was "...supposed to sound like a newsletter or bulletin board from somewhere mysterious", Bradford Cox said: "It's supposed to be like a collection of short dispatches". He called the use of the word 'Halcyon' misleading, adding: "It has a lot to do with the way people romanticise the past, even if it was horrific." The album artwork was provided by renowned Atlanta photographer George Mitchell. Deerhunter drummer, Moses Archuleta, initially suggested a "stark black and white theme" with Cox ultimately selecting Mitchell's photograph because "it had an immediate connection to the music, especially songs like 'Basement Scene'. Read more on Last.fm.